A green solstice

I moved to Texas from Michigan a few years ago. The political climate of West Michigan is almost identical to the political climate of the DFW area, so I didn’t really suffer a culture shock. What I did suffer was a climate shock. As you would expect, the weather is radically different.

Surprisingly, the last couple years I have seen snow in the winter. While I am not delusional to believe that the gods made it snow just for me, I did give thanks. It eased my homesickness and loneliness. I did not spend the holidays alone, but for as long as I can remember, my family has always gathered with my mother’s side of the family. I miss those get togethers and the food and the silly stories. Some how, seeing the snow brought me comfort instead of making me feel even more isolated.

This year, there will be no snow and no ice. The weather won’t even be that cold. It has a different feel to it and I keep forgetting that Christmas is at the end of the week.

I am still thankful. I have my health and a job. My schooling starts in a month and I am looking forward to the possibility of a real career. Bragi has blessed me with creativity and a fertile mind. I have a roof over my head and a wonderful Other Half. Perhaps the gods didn’t bless me, but I am thankful and I praise them every day for my wealth.

This entry was posted in Holidays and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

