Meditation and Junk

I have a confession. I don’t like meditating. In fact, I’ve never liked it. Oh, I like the concept of finding a few minutes to escap the chaos of our lives and just have a moment to yourself. I just don’t like the practice. I’ve tried, many times. I’ve tried sitting quietly. I’ve tried playing ambient music or noise in the background. I’ve tried at home in a familiar setting and in the woods removed from civilization. The only thing I have discovered in all of this is that I really hate meditating.

What I do instead is craft. I’m knitting now, I have been for a few months. Before that, it was crocheting and before that cross-stitching. When I am focusing on something link, even if it’s difficult and hard-to-see amigurumi, I forget about everything around me. I am quiet and centered and for a few minutes or a few hours, I am completely focused and grounded.

Sometimes, distractions show up. I have to rip out some stitches (or a lot); I have to untangle a knot in the floss or the yarn; I forget how to bind off or need to learn a new stitch. Whatever the reason, I have to stop what I am doing and it breaks into my zone. It’s a momentary lapse and then I’m focused once more.

I am truly honored to be able to be inspired by Frigg. She was the weaver of the clouds, who brought the rains, and a weaver of fate. While there doesn’t appear to be a deity associated with weaving wool, she is associated with the art and so I thank her for my talent. I dedicate my needles to her. I do not do the same for my yarn unless I know it will only stay in my hands. I am uncomfortable working my faith into anything I am giving away unless that is the point or the person receiving it is fine with it. I do not want to make people uncomfortable with my gods, especially when all I want to do is see them enjoy their gift.

This entry was posted in Crafting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

